Governing Boards

NHA Boards

Our certification boards and customer advisory board represent leaders and important stakeholders in allied health education fields.

About NHA’s Certification Boards

Our two certification boards operate independently to set policies. They have the responsibility of oversight over all certification and recertification decisions, including governance, eligibility standards and the development, administration and scoring of assessment instruments.

The certification boards are responsible for the following:

  • Adopting certification program policies and procedures
  • Adopting its own rules of procedure
  • Approving the certification exam content outline (also known as blueprint)
  • Approving appointments to the Exam Review committee and acting on its recommendations
  • Appointing a Disciplinary and Appeals Committee
  • Electing successors to the Board
  • Appointing ad hoc committees as necessary

The certification boards have developed a Codes of Ethics found here. >

If you have an interest in serving on one of the two boards, we invite your inquiry to Douglas Viehland, Executive Director-Certifications,

NHA Certification Governing Board

The NHA Certification Governing Board oversees seven of the eight certifications offered by NHA. A separate board oversees the ExCPT exam and CPhT certification program. The membership generally includes one representative of each of the seven certifications. One member serves as a public member to represent the consumers of these services. The members serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The end of the current term is noted below.

Terri M. Hock, M. Ed, BBA, (Chair – 2017) Director of Career Student Affairs
Allied Business Schools
Laguna Hills, California
Tracey L. Faulkner BSN, MBA, CIR, (Member – 2018) Talent Acquisition Leader and Business Partner, Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri
Tracy A. Huneke CP, NPA, CHI, (Member – 2018) Manager/ School of Allied Health Careers
Manager/Department of Professional Development and Education Griffin Hospital
Derby, Connecticut
Marilyn Bier, CAE, ACC (Public Member – 2019) President and Owner, Bluewater Consulting
Kansas City, MO
Mary Kaye T. Peterson, M.S. (Member – 2018) Program Director, Mayo School of Health Sciences/ Department Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota
Michael A. Reynolds, CPC, CCP-P, CPMB, CBCS, OS (Member – 2017) Instructor, Medical Billing and Coding and Electronic Health Records San Diego State University
Co-owner, Pitt & Reynolds Coding and Consulting
Project Manager, Sharp Healthcare’s Corporate Compliance
San Diego, California
Marcia S. Strickland, CPC (Member – 2019)Clinical Policy Manager
Cotiviti Healthcare
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Helen Suchocki-Martinez CMA, RMA, REKG, RPT, AHI, AHCM (Member – 2017) Patient Care Coordinator/Medical Assistant,
Rutgers College
Hurtado Health Center
Lead Evening Medical Assistant Instructor,
Everest Schools
Piscataway New Jersey
American Heart Association CPR Instructor,
ASHI Instructor

ExCPT Certification Governing Board

The ExCPT Certification Governing Board oversees ExCPT exam and the CPhT certification program. Members include certified pharmacy technicians currently employed and practicing in the field and stakeholder members such as pharmacists, educators, and employers. One member serves as a public member to represent the consumers of these services. The members serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The end of the current term is noted below.

Justin D. Lusk, Major-USAF, PharmD
(2017 – Pharmacist) Chair–Stakeholder Member
USAF Pharmacy Technology and Informatics Chief, Fairchild AFB, WA
Anita V. Benavidez, MBA, BSHA, CPhT (2018 – Technician) Technician Member Pharmacy Patient Advocate, Banner Pharmacy Services, Glendale, Arizona
Leigh Anne Taylor Knight, Ed.D. (2018) Public Member Founding Director, The DeBruce Foundation ThinkShift Initiative, Kansas City, Missouri
Carla Gillispie May, RPH (2018– Pharmacist) Stakeholder Member Pharmacy Manager, Advance Community Health, Raleigh, North Carolina
Timothy M. Maynard, PharmD (2019 – Pharmacist) Stakeholder Member Corporate Pharmacy Trainer, Albertsons Companies, Bellevue, Washington
Timaka Wilson, CPhT (2017 – Technician) Technician MemberCertified Pharmacy Technician, Henry Ford Medical Center, Detroit, Michigan and Sr. Instructor, Everest Institute, Detroit, MI Pharmacy Technician Instructor, Everest Institute, Detroit Michigan
Steven Huffer, CPhT (2017 – Technician) Technician MemberPharmacy Claims Auditor, Xerox, McKinney, Texas

Clinical Health Advisory Board

Our customer advisory board's mission is to drive NHA strategic direction through a formal trusted partner relationship between NHA and our most valued customers, industry influencers and prospective customers.

Cristen Cox, CMA Allied Health Division Chair/Medical Assisting Program Director, South Central College
Jean Cramer, RN Supervisor of Education and Float Pool, Aurora Medical Group
Dr. Dawood (David) Guirguis M.D Dean of Academic Affairs/Director of Health Science, Eastwick College
Dr. Frankie Lyons, Ed.D., R.T. (R)(M) Health Science Division Director, Great Falls College, Montana State University
Dr. Russell McGuire, PhD, RN Nursing Department Chair & Professor, South University
Anne McVay Regional Quality Manager, Tenet Healthcare
Dr. Jose A. Montalvo M.D., RMA (AMT), CCMA (NHA) Health Science Program Chair, Berkeley College
Cindy Robinson CTE Health Science Instructor, Tyler Texas ISD
Pamala Smith, BSN Vice President Nursing/Chief Nursing Executive, Advocate Medical Group
Elizabeth Thompson Medical Practice Administrator, Indiana University Health – Southern Indiana Physicians
William Thompson, ACPME Director of Operations Specialty Services, IASIS Healthcare Physician Group of Arizona/Hedley Orthopaedic Institute
Lora Timmons, MPH, CMA Dean, College of Nursing and Health Studies, Robert Morris University
Sunil Wadhwa National Dean of Education, Education Affiliates

Pharmacy Technician Advisory Board

The goal of the Pharmacy Technician Advisory Board is to bring together pharmacy thought leaders to collaborate around the utilization, development and advancement of pharmacy technicians with a goal of improving pharmacy operations and ultimately patient care.

Charlotte Weller, PharmD, Pharmacy Health Services Manager, Brookshire Grocery Company
Kristen Malacos, MS, CPhT Pharmacy Administrator, Pharmacy Systems Inc. Magruder Hospital
Shane Desselle, RPh, PhD, FAPhA President, Applied Pharmacy Solutions
Jason Palikij, CPhT Director of Pharmacy Technician Education Program, Johnson County Community College
Christine McDuffy, CPhT Retail Program Manager, Pharm Assess Inc.
Adrian Bocciarelli, Pharm.D,. RPh. Pharmacy Clinical Services Manager, Walmart
Tara Hannum, PhD., CPhT Program Director, Cleveland Clinic’s School of Pharmacy Technology
Isa Greenwood, CPhTPharmacy Technician Instructor, Wichita Technical Institute
Justin Lusk, PharmD Captain, United States Air Force
Brittany Snodgrass, PharmDPharmacy Clinical Services Manager, Walmart
Lorri Walmsley, PharmD Senior Pharmacy Manager, Walgreens
Chris Simard, PharmD Pharmacy District Manager, Bartell Drugs
Denise Propes, CPhT Pharmacy Technician Coordinator, University of Michigan Medical Center
James Cobert, PharmD Clinical Professor of Pharmacy and Associate Dean for Experiential Education
Rodney Cox, RPh, MS Director of Pharmacy at Memorial Hermann Health System